On Tablets

One certainly has to weed through a lot of information in order to find his/her perfect android tablet. I mentioned that I got an iPad a couple of months ago. At the same time I started looking into android tablets. There are many to say the least ….

In order to prepare for my upcoming sabbatical – which is all about mobile technologies – I really need to have access to an iPAd and an android tablet. I decided on an iPad (4th generation) because instructors at the Yellowstone Association Institute use iPads in their field seminars. Because one of my sabbatical goals and research projects is to assist them in the evaluation of their utilization of mobile technologies and Web 2.0 tools, that decision was easy.

So next … an android tablet. After a long search of articles and reviews, I had decided to get a Nexus 7. Then I heard rumors about the possibility of Google releasing the next version of their N7. Hmmm ….

Google was expected to reveal the new Android 4.3 operating system and the new and improved Nexus 7 at the Google I/O a couple of weeks ago (http://bgr.com/tag/nexus-7); however, not much has been forthcoming. Rumor has it that the “new” Nexus 7 will have the same price tag as the first version but is supposed to have higher resolution, a USB port, and should be lighter (http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-57583867-94/new-nexus-7-may-debut-at-google-i-o-with-same-$199-price-tag). It is expected to be out this summer – perhaps in July 2013.

So the verdict is … I will wait patiently and with high hopes (and high expectations) for July.

Leave a Reply

