On Dragon Naturally Speaking

Technology is a wonderful thing. Yesterday, I imported an audio book with several CDs into iTunes on one laptop while listening to my Japanese audio files (from Rosetta Stone) on my iPod and while Dragon Naturally Speaking (a voice recognition software program) transcribed several interviews on another laptop.

Perhaps technology has many drawbacks. However, I tend to think that it has much more to do with how individuals choose to use the technology than the technology itself. But that is a whole different topic.

I have not worked that much with Dragon but it did a pretty good job transcribing the interviews. Granted, there were a lot of errors that I will need to correct, but that was to be expected since you (the user) need to “train” your Dragon to your speech patterns, accent, and other pronunciation elements. I give it a thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

