July 23: I Drew This!

I have always admired artists … because I do not feel I have an artistic bone in my body.

I drew the picture below during my first visit to Yellowstone National Park (08/15/2006). I had just moved to Wyoming and my department at the University of Wyoming (in partnership with the Yellowstone Association Institute) had organized a residential learning program at the Lamar Buffalo Ranch. I had just stepped off the moving truck and had no expectations. The trip changed my life.

One of the activities was to sit at Artist Point and draw anything and everything we saw. I chose to draw the view of the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone – not the Lower Falls – across from my quiet spot.

Artist Point 2006 - Yellowstone National Park

Leave a Reply

